

Minutes | 101st Annual Meeting of the Architectural Institute of British Columbia

Date: Thursday, August 20, 2020

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: Webcast conference platform

Presiding: Ian Ross McDonald Architect AIBC, AIBC Council President

1.0 Welcome

Ian McDonald Architect AIBC and President welcomed the registrants and guests to the meeting, and acknowledged that the land on which the meeting was held is the traditional territory of the Coast Salish Peoples, specifically the shared traditional territory of the Squamish, Musqueam, and Tsleil-Waututh Peoples.

The President provided instructions for using the webcast platform to vote on meeting motions and to ask questions as indicated on the meeting agenda.

2.0 Introductions

The President introduced meeting parliamentarian Michael Blatchford, Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright Canada, and AIBC CEO Mark Vernon CPA, CA, CPA (IL), as well as council past treasurer Stuart Rothnie Architect AIBC and past registrar Darryl Condon Architect AIBC.

The President recognized the current (2020/21) and past (2019/20) AIBC Councils.

2020/21 Council Members

Sama Abri Architect AIBC
John Bass, UBC Appointee
Barbara Brink, LG Appointee
Heather Deal, LG Appointee
Michelle Fenton Architect AIBC
Jana Foit Architect AIBC
Sara Kasaei Architect AIBC
Catherine Nickerson Architect AIBC
Ross Rettie P.Eng, LG Appointee
Michelle Rupp, LG Appointee
John W. Scott Architect AIBC

2020/21 Council Officers

President, Ian R. McDonald Architect AIBC Vice-President, Stuart Rothnie Architect AIBC Treasurer, Marguerite Laquinte Francis Architect AIBC Registrar, Sean Rodrigues Architect AIBC

2020/21 Council Liaisons

Danica Djurkovic Architect AIBC, Immediate Past President Ryan Dinh Intern Architect AIBC

2019/20 Council Members

Sama Abri Architect AIBC
John Bass, UBC Appointee
Barbara Brink, LG Appointee
Danica Djurkovic Architect AIBC (and Immediate Past President)
Heather Deal, LG Appointee
Michelle Fenton Architect AIBC
Sara Kasaei Architect AIBC
Catherine Nickerson Architect AIBC
Ross Rettie P.Eng, LG Appointee
Michelle Rupp, LG Appointee

2019/20 Council Officers

John W. Scott Architect AIBC

President, Ian R. McDonald Architect AIBC Vice-President, Sean Rodrigues Architect AIBC Treasurer, Stuart Rothnie Architect AIBC Registrar, Darryl Condon Architect AIBC

2019/20 Council Liaisons

James Hancock Retired Architect AIBC Heba Maleki Intern Architect AIBC

The President acknowledged the participation of all council members and liaisons, who will be formally recognized at a future recognition event. Special recognition was given to Darryl Condon for completing seven years with AIBC Council in a variety of roles including president, vice-president, and registrar.

Staff

The President acknowledged the AIBC staff and expressed appreciation for the work that they do in regulating the profession of architecture in the public interest.

2.0 Call to Order

The President called the meeting to order at 9:12 a.m.

3.0 Approval of the Agenda

It was moved and seconded that the Annual Meeting Agenda be adopted.

The motion was adopted.

(122 In Favour, 0 Opposed)

4.0 Protocols for the Annual Meeting

The President introduced Michael Blatchford, the meeting parliamentarian. Mr. Blatchford addressed the assembly and reviewed the protocols and the role of the parliamentarian.

It was moved and seconded that the AIBC Annual Meeting Protocols be adopted.

The motion was adopted.

(130 In Favour, 0 Opposed)

5.0 Adoption of Minutes of the 100th Annual Meeting

It was moved and seconded that the Minutes of the 100th Annual Meeting be adopted.

The motion was adopted.

(125 In Favour, 1 Opposed)

6.0 Recognition and Remembrance

The President recognized members and associates who passed away during the past year.

Members

Marc Bois

Donald C. Andrew

Jerry Frank

Associate

Daniel Petrick

A moment of silence was then observed.

7.0 Reports

7.1 President's Report

The President presented 2019 governance highlights and accomplishments, including updates on the 2019-2023 Strategic Plan Goals.

7.2 Chief Executive Officer's Report

The Chief Executive Officer presented 2019 operational highlights, including professional conduct and illegal practice statistics, an update on professional development services, and public outreach and engagement undertaken.

7.3 Registrar's Report

The 2019 Registrar Darryl Condon presented registration and licensing highlights, including registration and oral review statistics, and initiatives undertaken to reduce barriers to registration.

7.4 Treasurer's Report

The 2019 Treasurer Stuart Rothnie presented financial highlights, including budget to actual, cash balances, and working capital ratio.

8.0 Filing of Audited Financial Statements

The President reported that in accordance with the *Architects Act*, the 2019 audited statements dated the 16th day of March 2020 and published and distributed as part of the Annual Meeting booklet, were officially filed.

9.0 Appointment of the Auditor

It was moved and seconded that Baker Tilly WM LLP be appointed auditor for the Architectural Institute of British Columbia for the fiscal year 2020.

10.0 Members Forum

The forum was conducted under the protocols published on the AIBC website and approved at the Annual Meeting. Although no member motions were submitted in advance of the meeting, as required in the Protocols, a general question and answer period took place.

11.0 Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m.